Theater and Dance

Theater and Dance

College of the Arts Montclair State University

Department of Theatre and Dance

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Memorial Auditorium | $20.00
Friday, March 18 @ 7:30 pm | Saturday, March 19 @ 7:30 pm Wednesday, March 23 @ 7:30 pm | Thursday, March 24 @ 7:30 pm Friday, March 25 @ 7:30 pm

Based on a novel by Mark Haddon | Adapted by Simon Stephens
Directed by Heather Benton

When a neighbor’s dog turns up murdered, 15-year-old Christopher (a suspect himself) sets out to solve the mystery and embarks on a terrifying journey that takes him far beyond his familiar street in Swindon, UK. As Christopher navigates the world through a unique neurological lens with a brilliance for math, his journey reveals more than the murderer, as family secrets unravel, bonds of trust are broken, and his once predictable world spins out of control. Based on the award-winning novel by Mark Haddon, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time received 7 Olivier Awards, including Best New Play in 2013.

Buy Tickets
Department of Theatre and Dance

Spring Dance 2022

Alexander Kasser Theater | $20.00
Friday, April 1 @ 7:30 pm | Saturday, April 2 @ 7:30 pm | Wednesday, April 6 @ 7:30 pm Thursday, April 7 @ 7:30 pm | Friday, April 8 @ 7:30 pm

Directed by Christian von Howard
Spring Dance 2022 features the choreographic works of Paul Taylor, Michelle Manzanales, TweetBoogie, Pam Pietro, Janice Rosario, Yusha-Maria Sorzano and Christian von Howard.

Buy Tickets
Department of Theatre and Dance

The Big Meal

Life Hall Studio Theatre | $15.00
Wednesday April 13 @ 7:30 pm | Thursday April 14 @ 7:30 pm Wednesday April 20 @ 7:30 pm | Thursday April 21 @ 7:30 pm | Friday April 22 @ 7:30 pm | Saturday April 23 @ 2:00 pm

By Dan LaFranc | Directed by Susan Kerner
Somewhere in America, in a typical restaurant on a typical night, Sam and Nicole first meet. Sparks fly. And so begins the extraordinary tale of five generations of an ordinary family, from first kiss to final good-bye. Packed with humanity and humor, The Big Meal chronicles the loves, trials, and resilience of modern families. Playwright Dan LeFranc won the 2010 NYT Outstanding Playwright Award for this big-hearted, theatrically inventive comedy.

Buy Tickets
John J. Cali School of Music | Department of Theatre and Dance

Into the Woods

Memorial Auditorium | $20.00
Thursday, April 28 @ 7:30 pm Friday, April 29 @ 7:30 pm | Saturday, April 30 @ 2:00 pm

Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim | Book by James Lapine | Directed by Peter Flynn
“…and they live happily ever after.” So end all of our most beloved fairy tales; but what if there was a different “after” after the “ever after”? Are we always happy with what we get? Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine’s most acclaimed musical explores what happens when dreams come true, wishes are granted, and spells are broken. With soaring music, funny dialogue, and unexpected twists and turns, Into the Woods at MSU promises a night of mystery, magic, humor, and surprise. At a time when we are beginning to come out of our homes, we invite you Into the Woods.

Buy Tickets